2017

January 17, 23, 30 and February 6, 21
Artist in Residence Program/Workshop
Let's Write and Illustrate a Picture Book!  
with Five, Third Grade Classes

Claremont Immersion Elementary School
Arlington, VA
In the photos below, the students are using the "brainstorming boxes."

IMG 2343  IMG 0607

Every student wrote and ilustrated a fabulous picture book! I'm very proud of them!

IMG 0660  IMG 0682  IMG 0648

IMG 0063  IMG 2398  IMG 2393

 In the two photos on the right, the students are showing their "emotion exercise" that we did together. You can really tell what those characters are feeling!

Wednesday, February 8

Presentation Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story

Folly Quarter Middle School

Ellicott City, MD
Screen Shot 2017 08 17 at 5.28.54 PM  Screen Shot 2017 08 17 at 5.30.06 PM   

I had a lovely day with Erin Haden (left), who sponsored the visit
at her grandson's school in her daughter's memory.
           
On the right I am saying good-bye to Heather Taylor, Folly Quarter's
Media Specialist. Thanks Heather! Your kids were great!

Friday, February 17
Presentation Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Jones Elementary School
Severna Park, MD

Wednesday, February 22, 6:30

Presentation and Book Signing of The Eye of the Whale

Family Book Celebration Night

First Baptist Church and Child Development Center

Arlington, VA

IMG 0162  

I was so impressed with the fantastic whale-themed murals that all the classes created in honor of the event. In the photo above I am with many of the teachers and staff who were there that evening. In the photo below, while I am signing The Eye of the Whale a brother, sister and dad look at my life-size model of a sperm whale's tooth.

IMG 0151 2

Friday, February 24

Presentation Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Nantucket Elementary School

Crofton, MD

Thursday, March 16
ARTstravaganza - Let's Create A Picture Book! 
Workshops with the Second Grade Classes
St. Stephens and St. Agnes School
Alexandria, VA

IMG 0627

Wednesday, March 22

Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story

Sugarland Elementary School

Sterling, VA 

IMG 0703 2 

Monday, March 27

Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story

Highland Elementary School, through An Open Book Foundation

Silver Spring, MD 

Friday, March 24
Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Little River Elementary School
Chantilly, VA

Tuesday, April 4
Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Hutchison Farm Elementary School
Chantilly, VA

IMG 0820   IMG 0819 2

Here I am with Heather Pfundstein, Librarian, and Dorri Bryan, Library Assistant. We had a
great day. Thanks Heather and Dorri! And a big thank you to the four 5th graders who helped me set up the humpback tail!

Friday, April 14
Presentation Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Maret School
Washington, DC

Monday, April 24

Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story

Kicking off Stonegate Elementary’s Literary Festival

Silver Spring, MD

Saturday, April 29 - Sunday May 14

Art At the Mill - Spring Art Show
Burwell-Morgan Mill (Saturdays 10-6, Sundays noon-5)
15 Tannery Lane, Millwood VA

IMG 0118 2   IMG 0124 2   IMG 0122 2

"The Ebony Pool," "Red" and "A New Day" sold! 

Tuesday, May 16
Presentation Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Loudoun Country Day School
Leesburg, VA

Friday, June 2,

Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story

Buffalo Trail Elementary School

Aldie, VA 

IMG 1241    Image 3
Here I am with Wendy Breeden, Reading Specialist (left) and Nicole O'Keefe, ELL Teacher on the right.
It was a terrific day at 
Buffalo Trail! Thanks for recommending me, Nicole! : )

Friday, September 2 - Sunday, November 5
WET - A Group Exhibition on Water Culture and Aqua Life
Opening Reception Thursday, September 7, 7:00 - 9:00
The Mansion at Strathmore
North Bethesda, MD

Wednesday, September 13 - Thursday, October 26
Visual Magic - The Art of Four Picture Book Illustrators
School Tours Friday, September 15
Opening Reception Saturday, September 16, 5:30 - 8:00
Center for the Arts/Caton Merchant Family Gallery
Manassas, VA

Friday, October 20
Maryland Association of School Librarians, Fall Conference
Presentation: “Inspire Your Students with a Nonfiction Picture Book -
The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story”
Camelot By Martin’s
Upper Marlboro, MD

Wednesday, October 25
Presentation and Drawing Exercise Featuring Ten Timid Ghosts
Loudoun Country Day School
Leesburg, VA

Wednesday, November 8
Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
National Presbyterian School
Washington, DC

Friday, December 1
Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Bushy Park Elementary School
Glenwood, MD

 2018

Monday, February 26
Presentations Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Farmland Elementary School
Rockville, MD

Thursday, April 12 and Friday, April 13
State of Maryland International Reading Association Council's Forty-sixth Annual Conference
Author’s Night - Thursday, 4/12, 7:00
Presentation - Friday, 4/13, 10:45 - 11:45
Delta Hotels Baltimore
Hunt Valley, MD

Friday, May 4
Presentation Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Loudoun Country Day School
Leesburg, VA

Monday, May 14
Presentation Featuring The Eye of the Whale - A Rescue Story
Christ Episcopal School
Rockville, MD